News Flash Home
The original item was published from 9/7/2019 9:58:00 AM to 9/7/2019 8:06:04 PM.

News Flash

Storm Information

Posted on: September 7, 2019

[ARCHIVED] Dare County Reentry Information


Priority Two Reentry for Areas North of Oregon Inlet (Permanent Residents and Critical Businesses) Begins Saturday at 12 noon; Access to Hatteras Island Remains Closed

The Dare County Control Group met this morning (Saturday) to receive updated information regarding initial assessments including road conditions and power restoration efforts. The following reentry guidelines have been established based on current conditions:

Access to Hatteras Island remains closed until further notice. This includes all areas south of Oregon Inlet including the villages of Rodanthe, Waves, Salvo, Avon, Buxton, Frisco, and Hatteras Village. NCDOT continues efforts to clear the roads of sand and water, and make repairs as necessary. A checkpoint has been established to restrict entry to Hatteras Island. 

For areas north of Oregon Inlet, priority two reentry begins Saturday, September 7 at 12 noon. Priority Two includes permanent residents and essential personnel for critical businesses. Permanent residents must present a valid NC driver’s license or government-issued ID with a local address in an area of the County north of Oregon Inlet. Essential personnel of critical businesses must present a priority two reentry permit with a matching government-issued id.    

Read more of the latest news on Dare County's web site

Facebook Twitter Email