News Flash Home
The original item was published from 9/2/2019 8:07:00 PM to 9/3/2019 10:20:49 AM.

News Flash

Storm Information

Posted on: September 2, 2019

[ARCHIVED] Localized State of Emergency Issued For All Areas of Dare County

Hurricane Get Prepared

8 pm Update, Monday, September 2, 2019

Nags Head's bulk item/brush collection yard will be open on Tuesday, September 3, 2019 from 9-3 to receive  hurricane-related preparations. 

News from Dare County - Localized State of Emergency Issued For All Areas of Dare County

Mandatory Evacuation for Dare County Visitors Effective 12:00 p.m. on Tuesday, September 3; Mandatory Evacuation for Residents Effective 6:00 a.m. on Wednesday, September 4; Ban Issued For Ocean Swimming

Bulletin #1
3:00 p.m.

The Dare County Control Group met Monday afternoon to receive a briefing from the National Weather Service and to discuss actions necessary to ensure public safety across Dare County. With confidence increasing that Dare County will see significant, life threatening impacts from Hurricane Dorian later this week, a state of emergency has been issued for all areas of Dare County including the towns of Duck, Southern Shores, Kitty Hawk, Kill Devil Hills, Nags Head, Manteo and all unincorporated areas including Hatteras Island, Roanoke Island and the Dare mainland.

A mandatory evacuation has been issued for all Dare County visitors beginning Tuesday, September 3 at 12:00 p.m. A mandatory evacuation order for all Dare County residents becomes effective at 6:00 a.m. on Wednesday, September 4.

Now is the time to make final preparations, secure property and evacuate. Visitors should evacuate with all personal belongings and follow instructions from their property management company.

The state of emergency includes restrictions on ocean swimming due to dangerous surf conditions and strong rip currents along the beaches. Everyone must stay out of the water as it is unsafe for even the most experienced swimmers.

Those evacuating to areas north of Dare County are encouraged to travel westbound on Highway 64 to Interstate 95. Evacuating through the rural areas to the west of Dare County will help avoid traffic backups and congestion that may prolong evacuation by traveling northbound through the Hampton Roads portion of Virginia.

For preparedness tips and information, visit

Please note that Dare County’s new online reentry permitting system is now in effect and reentry permits from previous years are no longer valid. Permanent residents may still use a valid driver’s license with a Dare County address for reentry. A current tax bill or parcel data sheet with matching current government issued ID will also suffice. To review guidelines or apply for a permit, visit

Subscribe to receive emergency alerts via text, email or phone directly from Dare County Emergency Management at and follow @DareCountyEM on Twitter.

Monitor updated local weather forecasts from the National Weather Service at

If you or someone you know has special medical needs and may need assistance during an emergency, please call the Dare County Department of Health & Human Services, Social Services Division at 252.475.5500 to register for the Special Medical Needs registry. Offices will open at 8:30 a.m. on Tuesday, September 3. For more information, visit

The next update from Dare County Emergency Management will be issued on Tuesday, September 3 no later than 4:00 p.m.

Facebook Twitter Email